Getting to Know Yourself Better: Through Astrology

Just by looking at the title, you are all probably thinking to yourself: “Get to know myself better?! How could I possibly learn more about myself than what I already know?” And it’s so simple, through your natal birth chart.

According to Google, a Natal Birth Chart is a stylized map of the universe with the individual at the center. It is calculated for the exact time and location of the individual’s birth for the purpose of gaining insight into the person’s personality and potential. They also have a compatibility chart, for those in a relationship that calculates the individuals in order to see how their relationship could turn out (and from personal experience, it is right on the money).

Now knowing your natal chart will also help you during each planets retrograde during their specific timings (another lesson for another day). Knowing how your natal birth chart and how to correspond it to the retrograde will also prepare you for what’s to come and how your actions and emotions will be affected.

For example, on this current date we’re in the Neptune Retrograde. My initial sign is a Cancer, but by knowing my Natal Chart I know that my sign in Neptune is in Capricorn. So because of this, when I look up my horoscope until the Neptune Retrograde is over, I will be looking it up under Cancer and Capricorn.

Many sites have different interpretations and/or different ways of reading them. Like some will just have the meaning of each planet under each sign. Other sites will go into the meaning of the planet, meaning of the sign, go into the placing of the Houses, and what it means for this sign to be under this House, etc. It all depends on how much you’re into it, and how much you really want to know.

The only thing you really need to know, when doing your Natal Chart is: Birth Name, Birth date, Place of birth, Time of birth. And after all that you will be on your way, to getting to know yourself better.

Leave a comment